This Monastery is very close to the Saint Stephen’s Nunnery and it is perched on a steep and magnificent rock. It had already been organized Monastery since the year 1362 as indicated in a document by Symeon Uressis Palaeologos. Visitors have to follow a pathway that directs them initially to the foot of the rock, before they start walking up about 140 steps.
The monastery’s main cathedral was constructed in the 15th century and decorated with frescoes in 1741 by two monks. The wall-paintings surviving today are the work of the hagiographers Antonios the priest and his brother Nicolaos.
The Monastery of Holy Trinity from a distance
The chapel of Timios Prodromos (St John the Forerunner), a small circular church with a cupola, rock-hewn, decorated all over with wall-paintings of fine art dating from 1682, is of great interest.
Visit this monastery for the adventurous ascent, the striking view and its peculiar architecture. Part of the Monastery was used as the setting for the final scenes of the James Bond film For Your Eyes Only.
Visiting hours and days:
The monastery is open from 9:00 to 17:00.
It is closed on Thursdays.